Main menu


The organizers of the Festival are pleased to announce the 2012 European Science TV and New Media Festival, which will take place in Dublin from 13 to 15 July. The Festival is being organized jointly by EuroPAWS, Euroscience and Agtel as part of the ESOF Science congress. There will be eight awards, listed below. The screenings are complemented by panel led discussions and keynote talks on themes relating to Science and TV/AV media.


The 2012 European Science TV and New Media Festival will take place at Trinity College Dublin between the 13th and 15th July 2012. Further details, including how to get there, can be found on the location page.



There is no charge for entry to the festival at any point over the three days, and all sessions are open to everyone. Complementary tea, coffee and biscuits will be provided during the morning and afternoon breaks, and audience members are given the opportunity to vote for what they consider to be the best representation of science in TV/New Media as part of the Audience Award.



A full schedule/agenda of the festival, including details and times of the two panel sessions can be found on the Festival Agenda page.


A full list of shortlisted entries can be on The Shortlist pages.


The Jury

The Jury is made up of five well respected people from a variety of fields. You can find details about them on the Jury page.


Entry Criteria and Background

There are four TV and New Media categories, with a prize in each, plus four further categories and prizes as described below reflecting “Science in society” issues.

A production can be eligible in more than one category, and these may be designated either by the entrant or the organizers. The “genre” categories are:

Science and Technology in:

  • TV Documentaries
  • TV Drama or Docu-drama
  • TV General Programming (i.e. magazines, politics shows, natural world etc) – an item in context or a complete programme
  • New Media Productions (including WEB, iPOD, Promotional Video etc)

The winners will receive the four TV and New Media Prizes for 2012.

In addition there will be prizes for the following four “Science in Society” categories:

  • The best presentation of science or technology in relation to an environmental issue
  • The best presentation of a woman scientist or engineer, real or acted
  • The best TV documentary as judged by a teenage jury
  • The best production as voted on by the festival theatre audience

Programmes and productions will be eligible if they were first broadcast or released in 2010 or later up to the end of March 2012. They must also have been produced for first transmission or release (or shared first) in Europe, and not have been entered for a previous edition of this festival. There needs to be a significant science or technology content in any entry, which may also include the stories of individual scientists or engineers and their lives.


There will be an international jury of distinguished TV/AV people and scientists/engineers/science communicators. A teenage jury will award its own prize in the TV Documentaries category, and the theatre audience will also choose its own winner across categories. In all cases the decisions of the juries will be final.

The Science in Environment Category and Award is supported by BASF



The Science in New Media Category and Award is supported by the European Science Foundation


The Science in TV Documentaries Category and Award is supported by Janssen


The Young Jury Award is supported by the Centre for Science Education, Sheffield Hallam University



To find out more about the Festival’s supporters, please visit the “Supporters” page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *